Showing posts with label Thelma and Louise. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Thelma and Louise. Show all posts

Monday, October 04, 2010

"Thelma, don't you litter."

.

JA from MNPP here. At this point in Thelma & Louise, our girls have just robbed a convenience store (not to mention that whole shooting a rapist thing slightly earlier). In fact that tiny bottle of Wild Turkey that Thelma's contemplating chucking out of the car is amongst the stolen goods. And yet even the fiercest lady outlaws must have their standards. No littering!

Watching some of T&L this morning - it'd been awhile - the friction between the ladies they were and the criminals they're becoming is played for laughs a lot more than I'd remembered and this is one of my favorite throwaway moments. Although Louise is closed-off at the start she's hardly a schoolmarm, yet she keeps getting forced into the position with the newly rebellious Thelma, and Sarandon plays these moments with a really funny dose of bug-eyed bewilderment, unsure how she's found herself in the position of Mom. I wish she and Geena Davis had done a comedy together at some point, they would've been great at it. They still could...

Point being, happy birthday, Susan Sarandon!
.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Flashback: Best of the 90s (Pt. 2)

Start with Pt 1 of this 90s Flashback... if you're confused about what's going on. To make a long story short, I'm excerpting items from an old zine I wrote in Spring 2000, during the first year of the website. Yes, I was originally juggling too many things. Why that's not like me AT ALL.

We previously covered my dated lists for Actors, Supporting Actresses and Supporting Actors -- lists I don't agree with in full anymore (though the supporting actresses list I quite like still). So now we move on to Picture and Actress.

Best Actress
Top ten chronological order. What follows is original text from the magazine, with the winner in bold text. I had purposefully excluded 1999 which is why you don't see Kate Winslet for Holy Smoke or Hilary Swank for Boy's Don't Cry though here's what I wrote about Swank in that same zine...

I'm rooting for Swank on Oscar night. But I must express concern that she could turn into Elisabeth Shue and only have this one great role in her.
Ha. I was right but it's funny in retrospect to have proof that I had no animosity at all (I love Shue). I mean I wasn't giving the Swankster mean nicknames or spoofing my own hatred of her and I was actually rooting for her to win that first time. It was that damn disingenuous "girl from a trailer park" campaigning and the second win that rubbed me in directions wrong and wrongest. [sic]
  • Anjelica Huston, The Grifters (1990)
    Her daring unsympathetic work tore through the screen.
  • Jodie Foster, The Silence of the Lambs (1991)
    Clarice Starling is one for the history books.
  • Susan Sarandon & Geena Davis, Thelma & Louise (1991)
    I'm loathe to separate this duet, so I shan't.
  • Michelle Pfeiffer, Batman Returns (1992)
    Meow. Her funniest most magnetic star turn this decade.
  • Emma Thompson, Howards End (1992)
    She shone as the passionate but centered Margaret Schlegel
  • Juliette Binoche, Three Colors: Blue (1992 [sic] it was actually 1993. I think I was avoiding a certain 1993 problem in my head! read on.)
    A mystifying transcendent performance.
  • Holly Hunter, The Piano (1993)
    One of our finest comic actresses in her best dramatic work.
  • Elisabeth Shue, Leaving Las Vegas (1995)
    No one knew she had this in her but I'm glad she did.
  • Frances McDormand, Fargo (1996)
    An expert comic performance that owns the great film.
  • Helena Bonham-Carter, Wings of the Dove (1997)
    She gets better and better and this is the top.
Hmmm. Looking back I'm confused why Julianne Moore [safe] isn't listed. I was also a bit surprised that Meryl Streep's Postcards From the Edge didn't factor in but then I remembered that it took quite some time before Meryl Streep's "Suzanne Vale" started threatening to be my favorite of her character gallery.

1993 was too good a year in Best Actress. Too many riches.

And I'm a touch surprised to see Juliette Binoche there though I think the performance is a hypnotic icy marvel. The film was released in the States in 1993 which means that I'd have to bump Michelle Pfeiffer from The Age of Innocence off of my best actress 5 that year (*sniffle*) which would leave me with Holly Hunter, The Piano (winner) and nominees: Angela Bassett, What's Love Got to Do With It; Juliette Binoche, Three Colors: Blue; Stockard Channing, Six Degrees of Separation and Emma Thompson, Much Ado About Nothing (previously discussed) none of whom I am able to part with. Sorry 'Chelle! It hurts me more than it hurts you.

Best Picture
[Chronological Top Ten. Winners in bold red. What follows is original text. 1999 I had originally excluded as it had just ended and I was still deciding on "bests" for that year.]

Heavenly Creatures and Porn Stars
  • Beauty & The Beast (1991)
    Best cartoon of the decade. The genre has thankfully exploded since this.
  • THELMA & LOUISE (1991)
    Eternal thanks fo Ridley, Callie, Susan & Geena. Best road trip of the decade.
  • Husbands and Wives (1992)
    Allen's best film of the 90s. Its status will grow in time, trust me.
  • Trois Coleurs (1992-1994)
    Have this experience! Kiezlowski's enthralling spiritual trilogy.
  • THE PIANO (1993)
    Jane Campion's painterly erotic masterwork.
  • Schindler's List (1993)
    I hate to include Spielberg but he actually deserved the kudos on this one. (recently discussed at the blog)
  • Heavenly Creatures (1994)
    Peter Jackson's surreal mood juggling giddy nightmare.
  • Dead Man Walking (1995)
    Tim Robbins enthralling and enormously moving death row drama.
  • Boogie Nights (1997)
    P.T. Anderson's mega-entertaining superbly acted porn-opus.
  • Wings of the Dove (1997)
    Vastly underrated James adaptation by Iain Softley and a trio of fine actors.
The "runners up" listed were Edward Scissorhands, Howards End, Pulp Fiction, Queen Margot, Babe, Fargo and The Truman Show. And my three favorites of 99, listed elsewhere in the zine were Being John Malkovich, Run Lola Run and All About My Mother. (I've always enjoyed Lola but I didn't remember it as that high up!)

Some notes: It appears that I was in love with the word "enthralling" in Spring 2000. I guess I could not choose an adjective for Heavenly Creatures so I just went with all of them. I was also, not yet dead set against "ties". The Piano (see my review) now holds the throne on its own and those porn stars, waitresses on the run and murderous teen girlfriends continue to sit nearby as ladies in waiting to "Best Film of the 90s." (And yes, I do still think Beauty & The Beast is the best animated film of the 90s. Sorry Toy Story and Princess Mononoke) The rest of the list would need a seriously rethink or overhaul.

And if that weren't enough -- you're all "please stop. It's 2010!" yeah, yeah, we'll get back to it -- here were some other fighting words back then. Original Text follows. I can't totally stand by all of this since it's 10 years ago that I wrote this and I haven't seen at least half of the films since. Plus, I seemed to have had a distinct distaste for films with negative messages. But here's what I wrote ten years ago...
The World is Stone Pt 1 (Unjustly aborted movie children i.e. the most underrated films of the 90s.)
  • One True Thing
    Dismissed as just a fine Streep film. Sorry, try again. Just a fine film.
  • Velvet Goldmine
    Time has lifted [safe] to grand cinema status. Same thing will happen to Todd Haynes' most electric film.
  • Strange Days | Nell | The Ref
    Not classics but severely and rudely underrated.
  • Queen Margot
    This film floors me. Luscious. Epic. Incredible.
  • Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me
    You might want to hate it but you'll learn to love it.
  • Truly Madly Deeply
    A rarely insightful look at the mourning process with two terrific lead performances.
  • Batman Returns | Mars Attacks
    Burton's least appreciated. Funny and clever films.
  • Living Out Loud | Home for the Holidays
    The first was widely shrugged off, the second universally hated. I'll never get why. Holly Hunter is perfection in both.
  • Men Don't Leave
    An emotional stunner with Jessica Lange in top form.
  • Romeo + Juliet
    The media tried to reduce it to "Shakespearean MTV" when it's a visually inspired experience. DiCaprio and Danes briefly gave Young Hollywood a good name.

The World is Stone Pt 2 (spoiled brats - overrated films of the 90s)
  • LA Confidential
    Didn't anyone else find the ending a major cop out?
  • Deconstructing Harry
    One of Woody's worst. Childishly vicious.
  • Henry Fool
    A revered arthouse film that's so pretentious I felt like tearing at my skin.
  • Forrest Gump | Saving Private Ryan
    Two ultra adored patriotic Tom Hanks blockbusters with scary political implications or simplified messages.
  • In the Company of Men
    It's just inert as a film. Lifeless even in all its bile.
  • Braveheart
    Mel Gibson's sick, homophobic, bloodthirsty operatically self-indulgent mess. Won the Oscar of course.
  • Casino
    Just when I was sick to death of it, I realized it was only halfway over. Repetitious, ugly, and revered based solely upon the name in the director's chair.
Hmmm.

Many many people have told me I should love Casino (1995) as they do. Perhaps I wasn't in the right place? But I still remember the visceral hatred of it in the movie theater ... so I'm scared to go back. I rarely employ "pretentious" as a kneejerk insult now so I wonder what I'd think of Henry Fool today? I still have plenty of hate for Forrest Gump (see recent proof) and Braveheart (see recent proof) but I am confused at the dismissal of LA Confidential which is obviously a goodie.

Things I have no memory of: Hating In the Company of Men or loving One True Thing.

What were your favorite and least favorites of the 1990s back in 2000?
How is the list different now?

*

Saturday, July 31, 2010

TV @ the Movies: Thelma & Louise Hates Texas. Drag U & Marie Antoinette.

I get many emails asking me to write more frequently about the small screen so I figured I should cave if a tv series really excites me (like Mad Men) but on one condition: it has to reference the movies (or feature a beloved movie actress) or involve awardage. I've highlighted movie-adjacent TV before like pre-fame TV roles or unexpected actress moments. So henceforth, I'll package it in series form. You know how we do here at TFE. If something I happen to catch on television references the movies, I'll feature it on Saturday mornings to thank it for doing so.


Last week on Friday Night Lights Becky fell asleep watching Thelma & Louise and that is... well, I can only suspend so much disbelief and you just don't fall asleep watching that movie. It's awesome -- top ten of the 90s level awesome. But Becky is my least favorite character so whatever. She's a mess and there's no accounting for taste. There's a reason Louise won't drive thru Texas, y'all! She'd rather drive right off a cliff. I can't even discuss falling asleep watching Thelma & Louise without turning red with fury. Inappropriate! Those women deserved better.

So for this edition of "TV @ The Movies" a brief discussion of Drag U instead.

RuPaul's Drag U episode 1.2 "Dateless Divas"
I'm fairly certain this show is not half as good as it could be.
  • Qualm #1: a makeover show. Like we needed another one.
  • Qualm #2: I'm assuming Raven won't be in every episode and when the first Raven-less episode appears, I will feel cheated.
  • Qualm #3: why isn't the entire panel of judges famous queens like Lady Bunny? I mean to have a "Dean of Dance" and it's not Candis Cayne? That's just wrong!) -- but I love that the underlying message is so subversive: everyone would be better off if they became a drag queen.
Raven: These girls are lucky that they have the advanced technology of the dragulator!
RuPaul: The Dragulator is a highly sophisticated piece of tech-no-lo-gy
Raven was the hottest miss thang on last year's Drag Race (and anyone who coins the phrase "giving Michelle Pfeiffer Bitch" has won me for life.) so I'm happy that she's practically the star of Drag U already. And, of course, Ru's always had a way with hilarious line readings. The Dragulator is awesome. Ru understands the camp value of a low budget (not to mention the power of a catchphrase and cheap gimmick). Anyway, the [sassy head bob] tek•noluh•jee suggests that contestant Lenae becomes "Honey Boom" and she likes it.

"I was like, 'That's Marilyn Monroe. And she really is inside of me!'"
It's really more like Chicago's Queen Latifah when Velma's like "Not you too, Mama!?!" in despair of platinum blonde Roxie Mania but never mind. Later Lenae dances to "I'm Every Woman" in this new gold lamé platinum blonde version of herself which confuses the girlie iconography even further Whitney + Queen ≠ Marilyn??? Whaaaa... But I shouldn't doubt the Dragulator because it is to RuPaul what "Magic Screen" was to Pee Wee, yes?


So... eventually Lenae as Honeyboom blows a kiss to the judges with a "Happy Birthday Mr. President" proving once again that Marilyn did it best. More celebrities ought to understand their own image with pinpoint precision and sell it accordingly at public events. If they hope to be remembered 48 years after their death, that is.

Meanwhile Lenae's competitor Debbie is transformed into "Moxie Mayhem" saying
"It's like Memoirs of a Geisha meets Marie Antoinette"
And you know that mash-up sent me reeling... cuz I hate and love in equal measure! [To recap: Memoirs = hate / Marie = love]


'Honeyboom' won the competition but I was the true winner because it got me to thinking about Marie-Antoinette, aka the 'misunderestimated' movie of the Aughts.

Leaping far from the RuPaul's Drag U topic, out of curiousity, I thought I'd check that statement. Nope! Oops. It's almost the most critically hated of my top 50 favorite movies of the Aughts but not quite. These are the least acclaimed of those, according to the TomatoMeter, the only films in my top 50 to not score in the 80% and above of critical approval. These are the places I refused consensus. Not out of contrarianism, mind you, but from pure love of the movies in question.
What'cha think about that?
*
I Heart Huckabees

Friday, January 15, 2010

BPFTOI: 1944 & 1991

It's time for another installment of the "Best Pictures From the Outside In" series. Mike, Nick and I have been having these mash-up conversations off and on for what seems like forever and we're only 17 episodes in! I don't want to sound like I'm bemoaning how long we have to go... just that it's taken us so long that soon we'll have not just one (Slumdog Millionaire) but two (Up in Avatar's Inglourious Locker?) "Best Pictures" screwing up the concept of our original bookend timeline mashups. Anyway, I'm not complaining. I love the refreshers in Oscar history and the opportunity this affords me to see some films for the first time. I'd never actually seen the 1944 winner Going My Way, starring Bing Crosby as a saintly singing Irish priest and this was my first chance to revisit Silence of the Lambs on Blu-Ray.

'44 nominees: Double Indemnity, Gaslight, Going My Way & Since You
Went Away
. Wilson, the fifth, is largely forgotten. No poster online (!)

1991 nominees: Beauty & The Beast, Bugsy, JFK, The Prince of Tides and
The Silence of the Lambs (an anomaly in Oscar history)

History has a way of proving Oscar wrong (Double Indemnity is the film that people still worship from 1944) and proving them right (many people thought Silence was an instant classic in 1991 ... and they were correct). At the time of the 1991 Oscar race I was personally rooting for Beauty & The Beast but since I knew it wouldn't win, I was pulling for Beatty & The Bening... yes, my obsession with those two goes way back. In retrospect it's so exciting that Silence won. It's the only horror movie to have ever garnered the industry's top prize unless you count Hitchcock's Rebecca (do you?) or Forrest Gump (kidding!)

Since I've been spending this week preparing for my own FB Awards, I'm kinda focused on my own personal favorites at the moment. If I had always ruled the world the 1944/1991 conversation would be a match made in girlie heaven, Meet Me in St Louis and Thelma & Louise, both of which are in my personal canon. Strangely both were snubbed for Best Picture by the Academy despite strong public and critical reception and a multiple other nominations, too: Thelma won six nominations and St. Louis four.

Nathaniel's 1991 & 1944 favorites

Anywayyyyyyy. My point is that that paired conversation would be a helluva lot different than the one we just had involving leering cannibals and celibate priests.

read and join the conversation @ Goatdog's Blog.
Comment over there. Mike won't bite. That's Dr. Lecter's bag
*
previous episode: Unforgiven (1990) and Casablanca (1943)
coming in February: Dances w/ Wolves (1990) and The Lost Weekend (1945)
full index of episodes

Friday, April 17, 2009

April Showers, Brad Pitt as "JD"

april showers, daily @ 11

Tonight's shower is provided by mother nature rather than traditional indoor plumbing. That's appropriate since Thelma & Louise (1991) is elemental: all wide open spaces, blazing sun, dusty earth and women as hard driving forces of nature.

While the film belongs to Susan Sarandon's Louise, Geena Davis's Thelma is the maddening/adorable one. Among her many exasperating yet endearing qualities is her uninhibited horniness for one J.D. (early Brad Pitt). In the scene pictured to your left, Louise has booted the caddish hitchhiker out of their car since the friends are getting hotel rooms for the night. J.D. struts away into the rain shower, fully confident that Thelma's eyes are still on him. He even kicks up a boot heel, a private little show for her, as the car drives away.
There he goes. I love watching him go.
Wrangler butts drive her nuts... or something.

If you've seen more than two or three movies you'll know that this lustfully observed exit will not be J.D.'s exit from the movie. But Thelma apparently hasn't seen so many movies. She's surprised (and thrilled) when he comes a'knocking on her hotel room door later that same night.

J.D. is such a skilled charmer that the outcome of his neighborly call is never in doubt. The aw shucks grin is ease itself. He even knows just how to pose in the pouring rain so that the water runs, just so, off his cowboy hat. His 'I'll get out of your hair now' wet puppy act is all pretense. He's no puppy but a dog. He knows he's getting out of the rain. He knows he's getting into her bed.

Thursday, February 05, 2009

Breakfast With ... Thelma & Louise

Just coffee and girl talk.
(I hope it's decaf. Thelma is already bouncing off the walls)
Thelma: Hiiii-iiiii
Louise: What happened to your hair?
Thelma: Nothing. It got messed up.


Louise: Thelma. What's wrong with you?
Thelma: Nothing. Why. Do I seem different?
Louise: Well... now that you mention it, yeah, you -- you seem like you're crazy or you're on drugs.


Thelma: Well, I'm not on drugs
.>>>>>>... But I might be CRAAZZZZZY!


I don't think I've ever properly expressed how much I love Thelma & Louise but let me just say that this movie makes me as happy as Brad Pitt's hitchhiking cowboy made Geena Davis's Thelma!


(In other words: When I saw this movie in 1991 it was like I "finally got laid properly")
*